Hobie Porter News

Hobie Porter 'Fractal Chain' oil on canvas - 130 x 95 cm

Over the past 15 months, I have been visiting the beaches of northern NSW in their wildest moments, searching for inspiration for my current body of work. I found it in the ocean’s rawness.  To my delight, I also discovered another source of inspiration amidst those solitary beachwalks. I came across beautifully mysterious examples of flotsam and jetsam, old bits of human refuse, which I felt compelled to collect and use as subjects for my new paintings.

Tweed River Art Gallery is displaying a selection of this work in its foyer space until July 31st. For more information about the showcase, please visit my website

Photographer from Bush Turkey Studio, Justin Ealand visited me while working in my studio. He compiled a narrative of photographic images which articulated his visit poetically and poignantly. Visit Justin’s results at the Bush Turkey Studio website

Lismore Regional Gallery has selected two earlier works from 2006, The seeds we sow and Bifurcation, along with an as yet unreleased work titled Land’s End, (2011), to feature in an upcoming exhibition that surveys how artists investigate notions of Arcadia in their creative practice and surrounding environments, from July 23rd to August 28th.

I will be exhibiting my new collection in it’s entirety at Arthouse Gallery in late August into September. The solo exhibition is to be titled ‘Full Circle’ and will officially open on the night of August 31st. More information as this date approaches.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment